Critical Thinking Meets Your Inner Cent

Sometimes I wonder just how customary it is of pundits these days to do all the work for you in forming your opinion…

I can just see them now, carefully crafting just the right mix of metaphor and simile to lay the smack down just hard enough to make your minds meld.  Toiling away at the perfect copy that’s so SEO savvy as to send you to all the right sites; sites that are ever-so-gently suspending your disbelief enough to dispel your inner Centrist.

I’d like to do something that I don’t think a lot of them think to do…I’d like to invite you not to take my word for it, nor anyone else’s for that matter.  At least not at first.

First, what I’d like to do is invite you to really give a critical look at two organizations, (Centrist Project and No Labels), that I honestly believe in and think might be important pieces in the non-partisan puzzle.  (Note: when I say organizations I mean their mission and vision, a.k.a. the ‘how’ and the ‘why’).

Why?  Maybe I’m not so sure myself.  Maybe I just want you to try and change my mind.  Maybe I’m sly and cunning and know that if you take a look at these organizations for what, and not who, they are that you might find yourself identifying with them just like I do.  Who knows?  For now…just check them out and let me know what you think (i.e. post a comment below).

Thanks!
J. Vickrey

Leave a Reply

